Mind Body and Cake

Keeping fit in a college lifestyle

Baked Chicken and Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts

After looking at different recipes on several different blogs I ran across one that looked to good to not try.

The world’s Best Chicken and Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts with Pecans and Cranberries! 

(I apologize in advance for the quality of these photos. Ive been using my phone camera and they didn’t turn out as pretty as I’d like…..)

IMG_1106

For the Brussels Sprouts: Cook the brussels sprouts and cranberries with some olive oil for 8-10 minutes on medium heat until the sprouts become tender and cranberries begin to burst. Add in the syrup and balsamic vinegar and then take off heat. Toss in a large bowl with pecans and cheese.

1 pound brussels sprouts, de-stemed and halved
2/3 cup fresh cranberries
1/3 cup gorgonzola cheese, crumbled
1/3 cup pecans
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
Olive oil
Salt & pepper

IMG_1109

For the Chicken: Preheat oven to 425. Mix together mustard, syrup and vinegar in a bowl. Season chicken with salt and pepper and then spread the mustard mixture on top of each chicken breast. Cook for 30-40 minutes.

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/2 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
Salt & pepper

This meal was extremely easy and did not take a lot of time to prepare. The chicken came out perfect and who new I would enjoy eating brussels sprouts so much! This meal was healthy and super filling!

I found this recipe from Rachel Schultz blog. She has tons of great recipes that I can’t wait to try!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baked Chicken and Pan-seared Brussels Sprouts

  1. My gosh that looks and sounds delicious! I am going to make this one night this week. I’ve been trying to get Big Slate to eat brussel sprouts for ever. Maybe he’ll like this with the Gorgonzola cheese and pecans. Thanks!

  2. Kathy P on said:

    Um hum–this recipe does look delicious! I have a recipe the family loves for brussel sprouts, but I’m excited to have a second recipe now! Just heard yesterday that brussel sprouts are in season now–and a great source of protein!
    Thank you Michelle for reminding us to enjoy them!

Leave a comment