Mind Body and Cake

Keeping fit in a college lifestyle

“Lite” Carrot Cake

Before I start talking about how entertaining it must have been to see my roommates and I bake a cake, I feel I must address something. Because my blog name incorporates the word “CAKE” many people assume I love to bake, and I have even been asked a few times if I would bake a cake for friends. The thing is, I am actually not a huge baker, and don’t do it very often….but I do like to eat it!

The word CAKE in my blog represents all the yummy foods that usually are not the healthiest. I love to stay fit and healthy while still enjoying treats here and there. Finding balance is what works for me 😉

Now lets talk about this Carrot Cake that my roommates and I created.

Because I rarely ever bake I ran around to several of my friends houses to borrow flour, vanilla…and everything I would need.

Things started out great, until we got to the eggs…

When the recipe says “do not get any egg yolk in the egg whites”, they are serious. So Erika beat the egg whites until they were “frothy”, which took a lot longer than it was supposed to….sorry Erika.

We also ran out of brown sugar and had to google what to use for a substitute. Yes, I know what you’re thinking…there is no way this cake is going to happen.

Well to everyones surprise the cake came out great! We even made our own low fat cream cheese frosting which tasted amazing.

I gave the cake to my mom for her birthday last week and she loved it! I was actually nervous for her to try this cake but thankfully it tasted pretty darn good for a low calorie carrot cake.

I found this recipe from Allrecipes.com. I have been using a lot of healthy recipes from this website!

Now I’m off to teach Body Pump and study for exams this week. Hope your having a good week so far!

  • What’s your favorite kind of cake?
Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““Lite” Carrot Cake

  1. The carrot cake WAS delicious and I did LOVE IT! Tell all the girls thank you for making my day extra special. LOVE YOU to the MOON and BACK 🙂

Leave a Reply

